6 Years

Last week I hit six years for my running streak. I guess at this point it’s silly to say anything other than the fact that I’m all-in, until circumstances dictate that I’m unable to continue.

It has been an interesting ride, to be sure. On the one hand, it’s come at some measure of cost to my body. It would be silly of me to say otherwise. I don’t recuperate like others, because I take no rest at all and because of the streak, I run through various injuries (too many to count over six years) to the point where I either exacerbate them or create new ones. That’s what I am going through right now; my ankle injury from the North Face 50 has manifested now in an injured left hamstring, which is a pain in the ass. Pun intended that it’s literally a pain in the ass.

On the other hand .. the streak is pretty cool. It’s an exercise in perseverance to be sure and I could probably write a book about some of the things I’ve had to do to keep it going (two example: try running a mile the day after having four wisdom teeth pulled. Or while on a 40 foot boat for seven days). It keeps me going day in and day out and if it were to end, I really do think I would miss it.

It comes down to this: if I could start it all over again, I would. And so, onward……

 

On

Leave a comment